List of all Banks in Bangladesh. Govt. Banks in Bangladesh, Private Banks in Bangladesh. List of all public and private Banks in Bangladesh

Pursuant to Bangladesh Bank Order, 1972 the Government of Bangladesh reorganized the Dhaka branch of the State Bank of Pakistan as the central bank of the country, and named it Bangladesh Bank with retrospective effect from 16 December 1971.

After the independence, banking industry in Bangladesh started its journey with 6 Nationalized commercialized banks, 2 State owned Specialized banks and 3 Foreign Banks. In the 1980s banking industry achieved significant expansion with the entrance of private banks. Now, banks in Bangladesh are primarily of two types:
Scheduled Banks: The banks which get license to operate under Bank Company Act, 1991 (Amended in 2003) are termed as Scheduled Banks.State-owned commercial banks, private commercial banks, islamic commercial banks, foreign commercial banks and some specialized banks are Scheduled Banks.
Non-Scheduled Banks: The banks which are established for special and definite objective and operate under the acts that are enacted for meeting up those objectives, are termed as Non-Scheduled Banks. These banks cannot perform all functions of scheduled banks. Grameen Bank, Probashi Kallyan Bank, Karmasangsthan Bank, Progoti Co-operative Land Development Bank Limited (progoti Bank) and Answer VDP Unnayan Bank are Non-Scheduled Banks.

Here is the list of all public and private Banks in Bangladesh:

State-owned commercial banks
  1. Agrani Bank
  2. Sonali Bank
  3. Rupali Bank
  4. Janata Bank
  5. Pubali Bank
Private commercial banks
Private banks are the highest growth sector due to the dismal performances of government banks (above). They tend to offer better service and products. Here is the list -
  1. Uttara Bank Limited
  2. Mutual Trust Bank Limited
  3. Dhaka Bank Limited
  4. Eastern Bank Limited
  5. Dutch Bangla Bank Limited
  6. Pubali Bank Limited
  7. IFIC Bank Limited
  8. National Bank Limited
  9. The City Bank Limited
  10. NCC Bank Limited
  11. Mercantile Bank Limited
  12. Prime Bank Limited
  13. Southeast Bank Limited
  14. Standard Bank Limited
  15. One Bank Limited
  16. Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited
  17. The Premier Bank Limited
  18. Bank Asia Limited
  19. Trust Bank Limited
  20. Jamuna Bank Limited
  21. AB Bank Limited
  22. NRB Commercial Bank Limited
  23. NRB Bank Limited
  24. Meghna Bank Limited
  25. Farmers Bank Limited
  26. Modhumoti Bank Limited
  27. South Bangla Agriculture and Commerce Bank Ltd
  28. Midland Bank Limited
  29. United Commercial Bank Ltd
  30. BRAC Bank Limited
There are 8 Islamic Commercial Banks:
  1. Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited
  2. Shahjalal islami bank Limited
  3. First Security Islami Bank Limited
  4. Export Import Bank of Bangladesh Limited
  5. Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited
  6. Social Islami Bank Limited
  7. ICB Islamic Bank
  8. Union Bank Limited

Foreign commercial banks
9 foreign commercial banks are operating in Bangladesh. These are:
  1. Citibank NA
  2. HSBC
  3. Standard Chartered Bank
  4. Commercial Bank of Ceylon
  5. State Bank of India
  6. Habib Bank Limited
  7. National Bank of Pakistan
  8. Woori Bank
  9. Bank Alfalah
Specialized banksSpecialized Banks (SDBs): 4 specialized banks are now operating which were established for specific objectives like agricultural or industrial development. These banks are also fully or majorly owned by the Government of Bangladesh.

  1. Bangladesh Krishi Bank
  2. Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
  3. Bangladesh Development Bank Ltd
  4. BASIC Bank Limited
  5. Probashi Kallyan Bank
Non-banking financial institutions
  1. Uttara Finance and Investments Limited
  2. United Leasing Company Limited (ULCL)
  3. Union Capital Limited
  4. The UAE-Bangladesh Investment Co. Ltd
  5. Saudi-Bangladesh Industrial & Agricultural Investment Company Limited (SABINCO)
  6. Reliance Finance Limited
  7. Prime Finance & Investment Ltd
  8. Premier Leasing & Finance Limited
  9. Phoenix Finance and Investments Limited
  10. People's Leasing and Financial Services Ltd
  11. National Housing Finance and Investments Limited
  12. National Finance Ltd
  13. MIDAS Financing Ltd. (MFL)
  14. LankaBangla Finance Ltd.
  15. Islamic Finance and Investment Limited
  16. International Leasing and Financial Services Limited
  17. Infrastructure Development Company Limited (IDCOL)¿
  18. Industrial Promotion and Development Company of Bangladesh Limited(IPDC)
  19. Industrial and Infrastructure Development Finance Company (IIDFC) Limited
  20. IDLC Finance Limited
  21. Hajj Finance Company Limited
  22. GSP Finance Company (Bangladesh) Limited (GSPB)
  23. First Lease Finance & Investment Ltd.
  24. FAS Finance & Investment Limited
  25. Fareast Finance & Investment Limited
  26. Delta Brac Housing Finance Corporation Ltd. (DBH)
  27. Bay Leasing & Investment Limited
  28. Bangladesh Industrial Finance Company Limited (BIFC)
  29. Bangladesh Finance & Investment Co. Ltd.
  30. Agrani SME Finance Co. Ltd.

Disqus Comments